Men’s Home Internationals

The Men’s Home Internationals are an amateur team competition contested by the four Home Nations.

The precursor to this event was an International Match played between England and Scotland. 20 matches were played between 1903 and 1931, following an unofficial game in 1902.

The event has historically been organised by England Golf, Scottish Golf, Golf Ireland and Wales Golf, with each taking it in turns to host. The R&A took over responsibility for the Men’s Home Internationals from 2021.

Since 1952 the winning team has received the Raymond Trophy, presented by Raymond Oppenheimer, an ex-England and Walker Cup captain, in 1952.

Year Venue Host’s Winner’s
2021 Hankley Common England  Ireland
2020 Royal Dornoch Scotland  Cancelled
2019 Lahinch Ireland  England
2018 Conwy Wales  England
2017 Moortown England  Ireland
2016 Nairn Scotland  Ireland
2015 Royal Portrush Ireland  Ireland
2014 Southerndown Wales  Ireland
2013 Ganton England  England
2012 Glasgow Gailes Scotland  Scotland
2011 County Sligo Ireland  England
2010 Ashburnham Wales  England
2009 Hillside England  England
2008 Muirfield Scotland  Ireland
2007 County Louth Ireland  England
2006 Pyle & Kenfig Wales  Scotland
2005 Royal St George’s England  Scotland
2004 Prestwick Scotland  England
2003 Ballybunion Ireland  Ireland
2002 Royal St. David’s Wales  Wales
2001 Woodhall Spa England  England
2000 Carnoustie Scotland  Scotland
1999 Royal County Down Ireland  England
1998 Royal Porthcawl Wales  England
1997 Burnham & Berrow England  England
1996 Moray Scotland  England
1995 Royal Portrush Ireland  England
1994 Ashburnham Wales  England
1993 Royal Liverpool England  England
1992 Prestwick Scotland  Tie:  England,  Ireland
1991 County Sligo Ireland  Ireland
1990 Conwy Wales  Ireland
1989 Ganton England  England
1988 Muirfield Scotland  England
1987 Lahinch Ireland  Ireland
1986 Royal St. David’s Wales  Scotland
1985 Formby England  England
1984 Troon Scotland  England
1983 Portmarnock Ireland  Ireland
1982 Royal Porthcawl Wales  Scotland
1981 Woodhall Spa England  Scotland
1980 Royal Dornoch Scotland  England
1979 Royal County Down Ireland  Cancelled
1978 Ashburnham Wales  England
1977 Hillside England  England
1976 Muirfield Scotland  Scotland
1975 Portmarnock Ireland  Scotland
1974 Royal St. David’s Wales  England
1973 Royal Lytham & St Annes England  England
1972 Troon Scotland  Tie: England, Scotland
1971 Formby England  Scotland
1970 Royal Porthcawl Wales  Scotland
1969 Killarney Ireland  England
1968 Gullane Scotland  England
1967 Ganton England  Scotland
1966 Royal Porthcawl Wales  England
1965 Royal Portrush Ireland  England
1964 Carnoustie Scotland  England
1963 Royal Lytham & St Annes England  Tie:  England, Ireland, Scotland
1962 Royal Porthcawl Wales  Tie:  England, Ireland, Scotland
1961 Portmarnock Ireland  Scotland
1960 Turnberry Scotland  England
1959 Royal Lytham & St Annes England  Tie:  England, Ireland, Scotland
1958 Royal Porthcawl Wales  England
1957 Royal County Down Ireland  England
1956 Muirfield Scotland  Scotland
1955 Royal Birkdale England  Ireland
1954 Royal Porthcawl Wales  England
1953 Killarney Ireland  Scotland
1952 Troon Scotland  Scotland
1951 Royal Lytham & St Annes England  Tie:  Ireland, Scotland
1950 Royal St. David’s Wales  Ireland
1949 Portmarnock Ireland  England
1948 Muirfield Scotland  England
1947 Royal Liverpool England  England
1939–1946: Not held
1938 Royal Porthcawl Wales  England
1937 Portmarnock Ireland  Scotland
1936 Prestwick Scotland  Scotland
1935 Royal Lytham & St Annes England  Tie:  England, Ireland, Scotland
1934 Royal Porthcawl Wales  Scotland
1933 Royal County Down Ireland  Scotland
1932 Troon Scotland  Scotland

Copyright © 2014-2021, Mark Eley. All rights reserved.