The Georgia Cup – 2022 Preview & Results

27th March 2022

James Piot, the US Amateur champion, beat Laird Shepherd, the Amateur champion, by 1 Hole to win the 2022 Georgia Cup match.

The U.S. Amateur champions now trail the Amateur champions 13-11 in the series which was celebrating its 25th anniversary this year.


James Piot (Photo: The Golf Club of Georgia) 



The Georgia Cup is an 18-hole match play event played annually between the reigning United States and (British) Amateur champions.

This year’s match, the 24th, will be contested by James Piot (USA) and Laird Shepherd (ENG).

The two Amateur champions play the match as a precursor to competing in The Masters which both of their respective wins earned them an invitation to.


The Georgia Cup (Photo: The Golf Club of Georgia)


The match was established by The Golf Club of Georgia (GCOG) and was first contested in 1998.

Located in Alpharetta the GCOG has two Arthur Hills-designed courses, the Lakeside (L) and the Creekside (C). Both have hosted the Georgia Cup match in the past but since 2006 the Lakeside has taken precedence.

The 2022 Georgia Cup will start at 11.00am (4.00pm GMT) on Sunday 27th March. The match is used as a charitable fundraiser with The Folds of Honor Foundation, which provides support to the families of fallen and disabled military personnel, the main benficiary.


James Piot (23, d.o.b. 14th October 1998) comes from Canton, Michigan and is a fifth year senior at Michigan State University. He won the 121st U.S. Amateur Championship by defeating Austin Creaser by 2&1 at Oakmont Country Club. He was 3 Down after 27 holes but won five out of the next six holes to turn the match around.
Current world rankings: SPWAR #11 / WAGR #63.


James Piot – 2021 US Amateur champion (Photo: Chris Keane / USGA)

Laird Shepherd (24, d.o.b. 5th August 1997) lives in St. Andrews, having graduated from Stirling University in 2020, but hails from Sussex in England. He won the 126th Amateur Championship by beating compatriot Monty Scowsill on the 38th Hole at Nairn Golf Club. Memorably Laird had been trailing by 8 Down after the opening 17 holes and was still 4 Down with four holes to play before mounting is comeback.
Current world rankings: SPWAR #1,148 / WAGR #49.


Laird Shepherd – 2021 Amateur champion (Photo: The R&A / Getty Images)

Based on their respective rankings, recent form and playing experience in USA Piot will start the match as the favourite albeit my guess is Shepherd will not mind that at all.


Unfortunately hole-by-hole scores are no longer provided during the match.

More information on the match can be found on the Club’s website – – and instagram account – golfclubofgeorgia

Previous Matches and Results

Tyler Strafaci (USA) beat Joe Long (ENG) by 2 Holes to win the 23rd Georgia Cup match.

The U.S. Amateur champions trail the Amateur champions 13-10 in the series. The Amateur champion has overcome the U.S. Amateur champion in seven of the last ten matches played.


Joe Long and Tyler Strafaci (Photo: The Golf Club of Georgia)

All of the previous results are shown below (with the Amateur titles won shown in brackets): –
1998 (L) – Matt Kuchar (US) def. Craig Watson (British) – 3 & 1
1999 (L) – Sergio Garcia (British) def. Hank Kuehne (US) – 5 & 4
2000 (L) – David Gossett (US) def. Graeme Storm (British) – 3 & 2
2001 (C) – Mikko Ilonen (British) def. Jeff Quinney (US) – 6 & 4
2002 (C) – Michael Hoey (British) def. Bubba Dickerson (US) – 4 & 2
2003 (L) – Ricky Barnes (US) def. Alejandro Larrazabal (British) – 4 & 2
2004 (C) – Gary Wolstenholme (British) def. Nick Flanagan (US) – 4 & 2
2005 (C) – Ryan Moore (US) def. Stuart Wilson (British) – 2 & 1
2006 (L) – Brian McElhinney (British) def. Edoardo Molinari (US) – 3 & 2
2007 (L) – Richie Ramsay (US) def. Julien Guerrier (British) – 2 & 1
2008 (L) – Colt Knost (US) def. Drew Weaver (British) – 2 & 1
2009 (L) – Danny Lee (US) def. Reinier Saxton (British) – 2&1
2010 (L) – Matteo Manassero (British) def. Byeong-hun An (US) – 5&4
2011 (L) – Peter Uihlein (US) def. Jin Jeong (British) – 4&2
2012 (L) – Brydon Macpherson (British) def. Kelly Kraft (US) – 2&1
2013 (L) – Alan Dunbar (British) def. Steven Fox (US) – 1 Hole
2014 (L) – Garrick Porteus (British) def. Matthew Fitzpatrick (US) – 3&2
2015 (L) – Gunn Yang (US) def. Bradley Neil (British) – 3&2
2016 (L) – Romain Langsaque (British) def. Bryson DeChambeau (US) – 4&3
2017 (L) – Scott Gregory (British) def. Curtis Luck (US) – 19th hole
2018 (L) – Harry Ellis (British) def. Doc Redman (US) – 6&5
2019 (L) – Jovan Rebula (British) def. Viktor Hovland (US) – 1 Hole
2020 (L) – Cancelled*
2021 (L) – Tyler Strafaci (US) def. Joe Long (British) – 2 Holes

*The 2020 match between Andy Ogletree (USA) and James Sugrue (IRL) was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic and a postponement in the playing of The Masters until November.


Copyright © 2014-2022, Mark Eley. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s